LOW'S PEAK 4095.2 M  |  6.075° N, 116.558° E

Mount Kinabalu International Climbathon makes a comeback with its 29th series

Runners from all across the globe will gather on Malaysia’s first UNESCO World Heritage Site for the 29th Mount Kinabalu International Marathon that will be held on the 16th October 2016.

Due to the 2015 quake causing damage on the previous trail, the Climbathon this year promises new challenges for climbers with a new route carved out on a higher elevation, which comes with breathtaking views too. Kicking off from the Timpohon Gate to Panar Laban, runners will be going through the new route at Aki Point before proceeding to the summit, which holds a total length of 9KM, and returning the same way.

For safety reasons, this year’s race is by invitation only, with qualified participants recommended by their respective national federations or have finished the race within the time limit in previous years’ Climbathon.

Deemed the ‘World’s Toughest Mountain Race’, the Mount Kinabalu International Climbathon is the ultimate challenge to the spirit of human endurance by running up and down Mount Kinabalu within a set time frame. While casual runners may take an average of two days to scale the mountain with the compulsory presence of a mountain guide by their side, professional mountain runners participating in the Climbathon hold a special pass which allows them access to the mountain without a mountain guide, be it the day of the climbathon or during their training on Mount Kinabalu days before. This is due to their above average fitness level and seasoned mountaineering skills.

The Climbathon became a member of the World Mountain Running Association in 1997 and hosted the 15th World Mountain Running Trophy in 1999 at Kinabalu Park. In 2003, the Climbathon was admitted as member of the International Skyrunning Federation, the international body that promotes sports at high altitude. Since then, the Climbathon has been a part of the Federation’s Skyrunner World Series until 2012. International top runners from various countries race in the series’ venues to gather points to become the series world champion.